Surrey Wine & Food Society

Venue : Tadworth, near Banstead
Meetings :
Monthly on Saturday evenings
Contact :
Rowena Wilcox, Secretary: rowenawilcox99@gmail.com
Membership :
80; currently at capacity but applications to join a waiting list are welcome.
Membership Fee :
£10 pa.
Cost of Events :
£25-30, more for restaurant visits.
Guests £2 extra, welcome if there is space available.
Typical Attendance :
40-50

Club Information


The Society was formed in 1985.  The aim is to educate and entertain members, with an emphasis on the latter.  Events are friendly, social and ideal for anybody who simply enjoys wine.  The Society is currently at capacity and a waiting list is in operation.  As capacity becomes available, new people will be very welcome, whatever your wine experience or expertise.

We usually meet monthly on Saturday evenings for a tutored tasting of 8 wines led by a guest speaker such as an independent wine specialist (e.g. a member of the Association of Wine Educators) or a wine merchant.  The tastings focus on well-established and lesser-known wine regions or different styles of wine.  This is followed by a two-course dinner with wine.  In other months, we have an informal dinner at a local restaurant, an outdoor summer lunch at a member’s house, a formal dinner with the option of overnight accommodation at the venue and, at Christmas, a quiz and blind tasting.

We welcome new ideas and approaches from wine educators who are available to speak at our events.

Programme 2019
Sat 16 Feb Wines of California Robbie Rugman
Sat 9 Mar Wines of Sicily Victor Maguire
Sat 13 Apr Wines of Hungary   Richard Bost
Fri 10 May Informal Dinner at Rasika Restaurant, Ewell
Sat 8 June Wines of Spain    Quentin Sadler
Sun 21 July Summer Lunch
Sat 17 Aug Wines of Australia    Tim Syrad
Sat 28 Sep Wines of Argentina and Uruguay    Chris Horridge
Sat 12 Oct Annual Dinner at Burford Bridge Hotel, Boxhill
Sat 8 Jun Wines of Spain Quentin Sadler
Sun 21 Jul Summer Lunch
Sat 17 Aug Wines of Australia Tim Syrad
Sat 28 Sep Argentina & Uruguay Chris Horridge
Sat 12 Oct Annual Dinner Burford Bridge Hotel
   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Club News